Archive

Archive for November 1, 2021

Running Jamf Pro actions from outside Jamf Pro

November 1, 2021 2 comments

Every so often, I need to have Jamf Pro perform actions where it’s difficult to arrange the timing and task order I want using the options available from the Jamf Pro server’s end. An example of this would be following an OS upgrade. I want the following:

  • Update the computer inventory record in Jamf Pro as soon as possible that the OS upgrade has occurred.
  • Don’t interfere with any other processes that Jamf Pro may be running at that time.

To address this, I want to use the following workflow:

  1. Make sure the Jamf Pro agent hasn’t run anything for at least the last five minutes.
  2. Enforce the Jamf Pro agent’s management framework
  3. Send the Jamf Pro server an updated inventory.

To run these tasks, I’m using a self-destructing LaunchDaemon and script. For more details, please see below the jump.

Read more…