Home > FileVault 2, Mac administration, macOS > Cancelling an unwanted FileVault deferred enablement

Cancelling an unwanted FileVault deferred enablement

There are sometimes occasions when FileVault deferred encryption has been enabled for a particular Mac and then needs to be turned off. Since FileVault is not yet turned on at this point, there is no obvious way to turn off this deferred enablement.

However, it is possible to turn off a deferred enablement if needed. For more details, please see below the jump.

Detecting if a deferred enablement is active

A. Using the fdesetup command line tool

To check for a deferred enablement using the fdesetup command line tool, run the following command:

fdesetup status

If a deferred enablement is active, it should report this along with identifying the enabled user (if one has been selected.)

Screen Shot 2018 03 11 at 9 18 50 PM

B. Checking for /Library/Preferences/com.apple.fdesetup.plist

When a deferred enablement is active, a com.apple.fdesetup.plist file should be present in /Library/Preferences. This file will identify the path of the plist file which will store the the recovery key information, along with identifying the enabled user (if one has been selected.)

 

Screen Shot 2018 03 11 at 8 57 15 PM

The contents of the file should appear similar to what is shown below:

 

 

Turning off a deferred enablement

To turn off an active deferred enablement, please use the following procedure:

1. Run the following command with root privileges.

fdesetup disable

Note: The fdesetup output will report that FileVault is already off and not mention anything about the deferred enablement.

Screen Shot 2018 03 11 at 9 10 00 PM

 

2. Reboot the Mac.

3. After the reboot, run the following command:

fdesetup status

It should report the FileVault is off and not include information about a deferred enablement.

Screen Shot 2018 03 11 at 9 18 15 PM

This procedure should also remove the /Library/Preferences/com.apple.fdesetup.plist file. If the com.apple.fdesetup.plist file is still present following the reboot, remove the /Library/Preferences/com.apple.fdesetup.plist file and reboot again.

Screen Shot 2018 03 11 at 8 57 15 PM

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: