Archive

Archive for November 30, 2015

Automator’s Ask for Finder Items windows no longer showing text prompts in OS X El Capitan

November 30, 2015 3 comments

As part of working with Automator to build applications, I’ve been leveraging the ability of Automator’s Ask for Finder Items action to set text prompts in my Automator-based applications.

These text prompts are included in the appropriate Finder windows and have been an easy way for me to set a particular message in an Automator selection window.

Screen Shot 2015 11 30 at 9 43 34 AM

I recently noticed in OS X El Capitan that these messages no longer appear, which is a bit inconvenient as it leaves users of my applications with no clear direction as to what to do when this window appears.

Ask for Finder Items windows in OS X El Capitan and OS X Yosemite 001

 

It does not appear that AppleScript is affected by this issue, as the comparable AppleScript function properly displayed the desired text in both Yosemite and El Capitan.

Screen Shot 2015 11 30 at 10 16 47 AM

As a workaround to keep my applications’ users informed on what to do, I’ve set standalone AppleScript notifications to appear in my Automator applications before the Ask for Finder Items Automator action’s window.

Screen Shot 2015 11 30 at 10 03 56 AM

All three of my Automator-based applications have now been updated with the workaround:

 

I’ve filed a bug report with Apple on this issue. For those interested in duplicating this, it is bug ID 23688457. I’ve also cross-posted the bug report to Open Radar, so the bug report details are available from the link below:

https://openradar.appspot.com/23688457