Archive

Archive for November 19, 2015

Downloading installer packages from the Mac App Store with AppStoreExtract

November 19, 2015 33 comments

As part of my work, I occasionally need to download installer packages for certain applications from the Mac App Store. In particular, I routinely download and archive certain Apple applications from the MAS to guard against the possibility that Apple will remove older versions of a particular application that I still need to have available.

A tool that has helped me with this has been Max Schlapfer‘s AppStoreExtract script. This script is designed to make copies of the installers from the Mac App Store, and is able to handle multiple installer downloads at once.

AppStoreExtract is available from GitHub at the following address:

https://github.com/maxschlapfer/MacAdminHelpers

For more details on how to download installers from the MAS using AppStoreExtract, see below the jump.

Read more…