Home > Mac administration, Mac OS X, Mac OS X Server > Downloading Server.app for Mavericks and Mountain Lion

Downloading Server.app for Mavericks and Mountain Lion

I’ve noticed that the Server.app installers for Mavericks and Mountain Lion have now vanished from my list of Purchases in the App Store, and searching for “OS X Server” will only give you the option of Server.app 4.0 for Yosemite. However, Server.app 2.2.5 for Mountain Lion and Server.app 3.2.2 for Mavericks are still available. You just need the right Mac App Store URL.

As of November 1, 2014, here are the Mac App Store URLs for Server.app 2.2.5 for OS X 10.8.5 and Server.app 3.2.2 for 10.9.5:

To help safeguard against a day where they may not be available at all, I recommend downloading a copy of the Server.app installer packages from the MAS.

Update 1-6-2015: Apple has a KBase article that also shows how to download and install Server.app for Mountain Lion and Mavericks:

http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT203137

  1. November 1, 2014 at 5:24 pm

    Awesome find! Thanks…

  2. November 2, 2014 at 2:41 pm

    I’ve tried to install a fresh VM with OS X Mountain Lion and couldn’t find the Server App on my Purchases list.
    When I try to get there using the link above (to server 2.2.5), it says I have to buy. There is no “download” option.

    • November 2, 2014 at 5:10 pm

      Roberto, I ran into the same thing in my testing. I decided to risk paying $20 again, so I hit the button. The next thing that popped up was a notification that I had purchased a previous version of the software and the update would be free.

      At that point, Server.app downloaded and installed into the 10.8.5 VM I was using for testing and I was not charged any money. I had an identical experience in the 10.9.5 VM I was using to test Mavericks’ Server.app.

      In both cases, I had not previously installed Server.app into the test VM, so I got a new install of Server.app.

  3. foodie202
    December 6, 2014 at 4:54 pm

    Thanks, but I have an older iMac that won’t go beyond Lion. Do you have the same link for 10.7.5?

  4. Al
    December 9, 2014 at 9:06 pm

    Thank you so much for providing these links. Updating to Mavericks rather than Yosemite Server is invaluable to me since I am tasked with updating a 10.6 OD server and Yosemite loses the Workgroup Manager I will need while transitioning from MCX to Profile Manager. I plan to go to Yosemite once that process is complete.

  5. David
    December 19, 2014 at 6:21 pm

    Thank you very much!

  6. Mark C.
    February 4, 2015 at 4:49 am

    Thank you for this article. It is very helpful. I’ll end up having to call Apple because I’ve not implemented Server before but I have two Mac Mini Servers (MD389LL/A) from eBay that “should” qualify for Apple to activate the download. (fingers crossed)

  7. February 6, 2015 at 11:54 pm

    Just saved my life!!!

  8. August 13, 2015 at 2:48 pm

    THANK YOU!

  9. Chris G
    October 14, 2015 at 7:22 pm

    Anybody have a link for Server app 4?

  10. macshane
    January 21, 2016 at 10:45 pm

    thank’s a lot. Save me !

  11. mir
    February 23, 2016 at 7:54 pm

    What about OS X Server 4.1.5 for yosemite…? the newer OS X Server 5 is very buggy.

  12. Matthew Ellis
    March 24, 2016 at 9:52 pm

    Any chance there is a location for Server App 4.1.5, 5.x breaks SUS

  13. luke
    April 8, 2016 at 4:56 am

    You can download 4 from the app store if you purchase 5. Trying to download 5 from the App Store will give you the option to download the last compatible version on Yosemite.

  14. June 16, 2017 at 4:06 pm

    Warning: I purchased macOS Server on Sierra and then followed the link to install it on my Mavericks machine. Apple charged me for both.

  15. July 13, 2017 at 6:15 am

    The Apple knowledgebase article for Mountain Lion is no longer being updated and the procedure no longer works. From my investigations, it seems that there is a misconfiguration in the App Store. Despite extended discussions with Enterprise, they have not come up with a solution.

  16. steven
    December 1, 2017 at 11:32 pm

    The zoo store will no longer give the option of to download/purchase the last compatible ver. Whether trying to get an older or newer incompatible ver it just says you “server can’t be installed” because of the incompatibility. Please someone post a link to purchase Server
    ver 4!!!

    • steven
      December 1, 2017 at 11:32 pm

      app not zoo store :/

  17. bob
    September 2, 2018 at 11:31 am

    Thanks very much, highly appreciated! Do you know which Server version do I need to El Capitan, i.e. 10.11.6? Thanks again.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment