Archive

Archive for October 9, 2013

Force unbinding with dsconfigad without using an Active Directory admin account

October 9, 2013 6 comments

While developing a process to make it relatively easy for a someone with little Mac experience to unbind and rebind a Mac to an Active Directory domain, I ran across an interesting problem.

I wanted to use Apple’s dsconfigad tool but it wants to have a user account and password either specified as part of the command, or have the command specify a username and it will then prompt for the password. Since I was going to be scripting this, that meant that I would need to put the password in the clear.

While I was puzzling in IRC over the issue of a) putting an AD admin password in the clear for anyone with access to the script or b) attempting to remove the binding files and deal with the issues there, Tim Sutton asked a simple question: “Did you try giving a bogus user?”

No. I hadn’t.

As it turns out, if you’re forcing an unbind, dsconfigad only cares if you give it a user and password. It apparently doesn’t care whether the account actually exists in AD. Running the following command with root privileges will work fine to force a Mac to unbind from AD:

dsconfigad -force -remove -u johndoe -p nopasswordhere

Screen Shot 2013-10-09 at 5.01.39 PM

Note: Running this command will only unbind the Mac. It does not remove the computer object from your Active Directory domain.

Updating Red Hat Enterprise Linux and MySQL for Casper JSS server running on Linux

October 9, 2013 3 comments

In my own shop, I’m currently running Casper 8.x on a Red Hat Enterprise Linux server. The server had been set up initially with Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6.0 and MySQL 5.1.47 and it had stayed there for a while. However, I looked ahead to Casper 9.x and saw the following versions of MySQL were now listed as being required:

MySQL Enterprise Edition 5.5 or later, or MySQL Community Server 5.5 or later

I’m still running Casper 8.x, but I wanted to get ahead of the curve and not have to deal with a MySQL upgrade at the same time as a future Casper 9.x upgrade. Thanks to the Linux folks at my workplace, I was able to do so with a minimum of hassle. See below the jump for the details.
Read more…

Categories: Casper, JSS, Linux