Archive

Archive for July 28, 2012

Upgrading your FileVault 2 encrypted Mac to Mountain Lion

July 28, 2012 Leave a comment

One nice thing about using FileVault 2 to encrypt your Mac is that Apple’s OS installers are aware of how to work with a FileVault 2-encrypted Mac.* For example, you can upgrade from Mac OS X 10.7.4 to Mac OS X 10.8.0 on a FileVault 2-encrypted Mac using the same process that you would use on an unencrypted Mac.

* I had previously been wrong on the Internet about this subject.

Since this is a process that’s more easily shown than explained, I’ve made a five minute video showing the process as I saw it.

Here’s the procedure I used:

  1. Logged into my FileVault 2 encrypted Mac
  2. Launched Install OS X Mountain Lion.app from /Applications
  3. Selected my boot drive and let it proceed with the upgrade.
  4. The upgrade restarted the Mac.
  5. The FileVault 2 pre-boot login screen appeared and I logged in.
  6. The upgrade automatically proceeded after the FileVault 2 login screen
  7. After the upgrade process finished, the Mac restarted.
  8. The FileVault 2 pre-boot login screen appeared and I logged in.
  9. I clicked the buttons to skip the Apple ID setup
  10. I then verified that I was now on 10.8.0.

Note: The video has been edited to artificially reduce the amount of time the installers take to run. Run time of the pre-edited video was 41 minutes.