Home > Mac administration, macOS > Disabling iCloud Desktop and Documents syncing

Disabling iCloud Desktop and Documents syncing

As part of my pre-release testing of macOS Sierra, I tested iCloud Desktop and Documents syncing and decided I was not going to use it because of the problems I found. However, at that time I could not find a way to disable only iCloud Desktop and Documents without having to disable iCloud Drive entirely.

As part of the release of macOS 10.12.4, Apple has made available a profile option that allows for the specific disabling of iCloud Desktop and Documents syncing without needing to block iCloud Drive.

Screen Shot 2017 03 15 at 9 36 16 AM

For more details, see below the jump.

For those who want to disable iCloud Desktop and Documents, I’ve created a .mobileconfig file and posted it here on Github:

https://github.com/rtrouton/profiles/tree/master/DisableiCloudDesktopandDocuments

Once installed, you should be able to have iCloud Drive enabled in your iCloud settings.

Screen Shot 2017 03 15 at 9 36 42 AM

When you click the Options… button for iCloud Drive, the Desktop & Documents Folders setting should appear as grayed out and not selectable.

Screen Shot 2017 03 15 at 9 37 03 AM

Categories: Mac administration, macOS
  1. Richard Smith
    March 27, 2017 at 8:10 pm

    This article fails to make it clear it is written from an administrative perspective (i.e. forced disabled), end users can disable their own iCloud Desktop and Documents syncing without having to disable iCould Drive.

  2. Daniel Green
    March 27, 2017 at 9:04 pm

    Tried to upload this to a config profile in JAMF, but doesn’t seem to be working. Profile is blank. Doesn’t have the custom settings that I’d expect.

    (ps, I know that JAMF will support this natively, but requires an upgrade that we don’t yet have in place)

    • Daniel Green
      March 27, 2017 at 9:29 pm

      Nevermind, I’m an idiot. Worked as advertised.

  3. March 28, 2017 at 1:20 pm

    What happens if the user already had Desktop/Documents sync turned on when this profile is deployed to turn it off?

  4. August 1, 2017 at 2:22 pm

    There’s a bug in Apple’s implementation of this setting whereby it can be bypassed in the Manage Storage dialog. See my Open Radar at https://openradar.appspot.com/33652807 and dupe if necessary.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: