Home > Mac administration, Mac OS X, macOS > Disabling iCloud Drive and Document Syncing

Disabling iCloud Drive and Document Syncing

In the course of my testing of macOS Sierra this week, I decided to turn on iCloud Desktop and Documents syncing. This was my reaction:

I can’t discuss the details of my testing yet because the macOS Sierra NDA still applies until Sierra is released on September 20, 2016. However, for those Mac admins who have also tested this and wish to block it in their own environments ahead of macOS Sierra’s release, I’ve built a management profile and made it available via the link below:


This profile has been tested and works on OS X 10.11.6 and later. It restricts access to the iCloud Drive settings in the iCloud preference pane by graying out iCloud Drive and making it non-selectable.

Screen Shot 2016 09 19 at 10 02 29 PM

  1. Daniel O'Donnell
    September 20, 2016 at 3:23 am

    Looking forward to your analysis of why this is working so poorly. (I have been using it for 3-4 weeks and am tired of the slow sync speeds and constant failure to sync at all.)

  2. Neil McDougall
    September 28, 2016 at 6:57 pm

    I could not get that mobileconfig to load. It gives me a “Could not open profile” when it tries to load the profile.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

