Archive

Archive for October 25, 2021

Disabling the Erase All Contents and Settings function on macOS Monterey

October 25, 2021 8 comments

As part of macOS Monterey, Apple has introduced the Erase All Contents and Settings function to macOS for Apple Silicon Macs. In my Monterey testing, this setting was very useful because it enabled me to reset my Mac to a factory default condition without having to spend extra time wiping the drive and installing a fresh copy of macOS.

Screen Shot 2021 10 14 at 9 46 35 AM

However, having this functionality available may not desired in all environments. For Mac admins supporting these environments, Apple has provided a new profile management option, as part of the Restrictions payload, which disables the Erase All Contents and Settings functionality on Apple Silicon Macs.

Screen Shot 2021 10 14 at 10 14 39 AM

For more details, please see below the jump.

Read more…

Categories: Mac administration, macOS
%d bloggers like this: