Archive

Archive for June 30, 2017

Automating the enablement of object versioning on AWS S3 buckets

June 30, 2017 Leave a comment

As part of some work I’ve been doing with Amazon Web Services, I needed to enable object versioning on all S3 buckets in an account.

Screen Shot 2017 06 30 at 1 28 38 PM

However, I had three issues that I needed to accommodate for:

  1. There were a sufficient number of S3 buckets that enabling versioning via the S3 web console would be inconvenient.
  2. Some of the S3 buckets in the list already had object versioning enabled, while others in the list did not.
  3. I had forgotten which ones already had versioning enabled, so I’d have to check each one.

To address all three issues, I’ve written a script that uses the aws command line tool┬áto detect which S3 buckets do not have object versioning enabled and enable it on the detected S3 buckets. For more details, see below the jump.

Read more…

