Home > Personal > Moving on

Moving on

At the beginning of November, I made the following announcement via Twitter:

Time has marched on and today is my last day at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute’s Janelia Research Campus. I wanted to take the opportunity to express my gratitude to the good folks who work there and to my management in particular.

Since 2011, I’ve spoken at a number of Mac IT conferences on a variety of topics. The ability to do so wouldn’t have been possible without the generous support that I received from HHMI. I’ve also had complete freedom when it comes to the writing I’ve done on this blog and elsewhere, which has been a huge boon to me both professionally and personally.

I look forward to continuing to both speak and write as part of my move to SAP, where I’m joining a great team doing amazing things. However, I’ll never forget that it was HHMI’s unstinting support that made it possible to begin with. Thank you.

Categories: Personal
  1. Simon, Gary
    December 23, 2016 at 5:10 pm

    Hi Rich,

    It certainly has been a pleasure working with you over the years and I really have appreciated all of your great posts, articles and presentations… as has the rest of my team here at Sandia. I wish you the best of luck in your new career move and am sure you will excel in your role there as well.

    I too will be moving on. After close to 20 years of being the main Mac support person at Sandia National Laboratories, I will be retiring early next year. I feel both excited and sad about the move. I have really enjoyed helping keep our Macs secure and providing the best possible service to our users over the years. Working with Apple devices has always been exciting and challenging and I will miss it. However, there are a lot of other things that I will now be able to do once I retire and am looking forward to that.

    Again, I have enjoyed your acquaintance and was glad I got to know you.

    Gary

    From: Der Flounder <comment-reply@wordpress.com> Reply-To: Der Flounder <comment+_htgtt-3ze5dpbvisnamyo@comment.wordpress.com> Date: Friday, December 23, 2016 at 9:11 AM To: “Simon, Gary” <ghsimon@sandia.gov> Subject: [EXTERNAL] [New post] Moving on

    rtrouton posted: “At the beginning of November, I made the following announcement via Twitter: https://twitter.com/rtrouton/status/793498171041312769 Time has marched on and today is my last day at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute’s Janelia Research Campus. I wanted t”

  2. Dom Vasquez
    December 23, 2016 at 6:21 pm

    I look forward to what is next. Thank you for your contributions.

  3. Bob Colquhoun
    December 23, 2016 at 6:21 pm

    I’ve been lurking about your blog learning quite a bit about Mac things. Looking forward to hearing about Mac at SAP since my day job is SAP deployment and my company is rolling out Macs at a breakneck pace. I’ve been using a Mac at work full time for over 2 years now but the SAP Mac integration is still behind Windows in several areas.

    Thanks and congratulations

  4. Kostas Backas
    December 23, 2016 at 9:16 pm

    Thank you very much for your efforts and sharing. Looking forward for next things to come.

  5. December 24, 2016 at 3:20 am

    Wow, congratulations on your new position! I hope you continue to blog, we can all tell you enjoy it, and we all appreciate it!

  6. ivy
    December 26, 2016 at 10:09 pm

    Congrats Rich, and thanks for all the great support and knowledge you’ve offered our community and our recipient endusers over the years. See you at the next tech conference, whichever it may be! //ivy

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

