Archive

Archive for July 19, 2015

Customizing Automator application icons

July 19, 2015 Leave a comment

As part of my work with packaging, I’ve built a few Automator-based applications to assist me and other Mac admins.

Along with building the applications themselves, I wanted to provide custom icons for these apps. This would help them be instantly distinguishable from other Automator applications and also help make them look more polished.

I recently decided to change out the application icon for Payload-Free Package Creator, as its icon had been created on Mavericks and now appeared a little dated when used on Yosemite. With input from my colleague Elliot Jordan, the new icon for Payload-Free Package Creator now looks like this.

Payload Free Package Creator logo

For more information on how I went from this PNG file to an icon set for the application, please see below the jump.

Read more…

Categories: Automator, Mac OS X
