Home > Mac administration, Mac OS X, Packaging, Xcode > Repackaging XCode 4.1 for 10.6.x

Repackaging XCode 4.1 for 10.6.x

At the end of August, Apple posted XCode 4.1 for 10.6.x up on the ADC site. Since I wanted to make it available to some of our developers, I downloaded the disk image download from ADC and took a look.

Screen shot 2011-10-07 at 3.58.23 PM

Fantastic, looks like a standard installer package. So I uploaded it to my software installation portal for testing and scoped the installer so that only my test boxes can see it. The test boxes have XCode 4.0.2 on them already, so this should test upgrading as well as installing.

The package installs, I go take a look, and my XCode installations are still at 4.0.2

I run it again. Same result.

Now I run it with snapshotting on a new box, so I can see exactly what’s being installed. Nothing in /Developer……./Applications? It’s installing one thing into /Applications?

Screen shot 2011-10-07 at 4.16.35 PM

That’s right, Apple gave me a standard installer package that installs a second installer. Even more awesomely, the second installer is not an installer that I can push with my usual software deployment tools.

Fortunately, since Apple had also used the Install XCode.app route with XCode 4.1 for 10.7, I already have a fix for this issue. Use it in good health.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

