Home > Geeky > Airport Extreme update: Rebooting nightly wasn’t the answer.

Airport Extreme update: Rebooting nightly wasn’t the answer.

Back in November, I’d posted this entry describing how I’d started rebooting my Airport Extreme on a nightly basis to fix a problem where it was becoming unresponsive every couple of days. I was still having the problem (even with a nightly reboot) through December and January, so a few days ago, I decided to move the Airport upstairs so that at least I wouldn’t have to head down into the basement all the time. I disconnected it from the gigabit switch downstairs, unplugged everything, then brought it upstairs. Once there, I installed it in our entertainment center behind the TV and connected it to the small 10/100 switch that I use to connect my home theater Mac Mini to our home’s network. Lo and behold, it’s been five days since the change and the wireless network hasn’t gone offline once.

At this point, I’m inclined to blame the gigabit switch in the basement for the problem, but I don’t have anything to base that on other than the fact that the problem went away.

Categories: Geeky
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

