Home > Geeky, Mac OS X, Time Machine > New backup drive for the Mini home theater.

New backup drive for the Mini home theater.

I’ve got a Mac Mini that I use as the base for my home theater setup, which I’ve been backing up with Time Machine. In the past few months, I’ve noticed that Time Machine has been keeping backups less than a month, which was tied back to the fact that I’ve been using a 300 GB external drive to back up an internal 80 gig drive and another 300 GB external drive. Neither drive being backed up was full yet, but the math looked pretty clear: having 300 gigs available to back up 380 gigs of potential used space is a pretty bad proposition.

To fix that, I went to Best Buy this weekend and picked up a new quad-interface 500 GB Iomega UltraMax hard drive. So far, no problems and I’ll hopefully be good for another year of worry-free backups.

Categories: Geeky, Mac OS X, Time Machine
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

