Home > Geeky > A day with Mac OS 9.

A day with Mac OS 9.

I recently picked up a GatorBox CS, a nifty internet router made in the early 90s for the purpose of connecting LocalTalk and Ethernet networks together. Its intended purpose is now largely gone, but it can do something else that’s surprisingly hard to do these days: make an AppleTalk zone. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for a while on my home network, mainly to see if it would make a difference in performance (it didn’t.) The software, not surprisingly, was only available for Mac OS. Considering how old it was, much to my surprise it ran fine on Mac OS 9.2.2 on my old Power Mac 6500. My success with that led to my poking around on the 6500, which I hadn’t really done in a while. I poked at it so much today that it’s now not starting thanks to (I suspect) a SCSI conflict. So it’s now unplugged to see if letting it sit a while without power will fix it by letting the logic board drain of all power and then reset back to the factory defaults when I power it back up later. There are some days when I miss 9, and there are some days I don’t miss its problems. Today seems to be a day where I both miss it and don’t miss it.🙂

Categories: Geeky
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

