Home > Uncategorized > This year's coolest geeky gift.

This year's coolest geeky gift.

The winner of this year's “What's the coolest geeky gift that Rich gets for his birthday” goes to my darling Lauren. She got me something that I've wanted for as long as I've known about it, a Fossil PDA watch. Fossil first announced this a few years ago, then seemingly withdrew it, then announced again as a MSN-powered wireless news portal watch. My hopes for a Palm PDA on my wrist seemed dashed forever, until this year when I heard rumors that Fossil was releasing it again. This always fell for me into the category of “Dang, I'd *love* to have that, but I can't justify buying it to myself when I've got other uses for the money.” Seriously, I do this a lot. (On the other hand, if my Treo 650 ever fell and broke, I'd be buying a new one that very same day.) 
So you can imagine my delight when La's gift, which she gave to me early, turned out to be the very thing that I've wanted for so long. 
This is essentially a Palm PDA with 8 megs of memory that sits on your wrist. It has everything you'd expect a comparable Palm to have, including IR beaming and receiving. 
The coolest feature of the whole thing was the fact that they managed to shoehorn a stylus into the watch, rather than trying to do everything with buttons. 
It does have a rather short battery life when constantly used as a PDA, I've found, but it can both sync and charge via USB.  
Consequently, when I know that I'm going to be working on my laptop or near my desktop computer at work for a while, I'll pop open the cover over the USB port on my watch and plug in. I'll admit, it does look a little like I've got a weird cyborg IV line from my laptop to my wrist, but it's pretty comfortable. (The looks from some people in the first meeting I did this in were pretty interesting in their own right. My project manager told me later that, before she figured out what was going on, she kept expecting me to be electrocuted.) 
Technical Specifications 
Operating System: Palm OS 4.1 
CPU: Motorola Dragonball Super VZ 66MHz 
Memory: 8 MB (RAM), 4 MB (Flash) (approximately 7.7MB RAM available) 
Display: 160 x 160 pixels, 16 level grayscale, EL backlight, Touch Screen 
Built-in Applications: Address Book, Date Book, To Do List, Memo Pad, Calculator, Time 
Third-Party Application Support: Will run most Palm OS applications 
Interface: USB 
Infrared Port: IRDA (v1.2a) (communicates with all Palm OS devices) 
Battery Life: Approximately 3-4 days (Based on an average use of 30 minutes per day, with no backlight or IR. The battery life varies depending on the temperature and conditions of use.) 
Power Requirements: AC power Adaptor (100V – 240V), DC output (6V), Lithium-ion rechargeable battery (internal) 
Warranty: 90 day factory warranty 
What's in the Box 
Wrist PDA watch, HotSync Pod, USB cable, AC adapter, extra stylus, installation CD, wristband link removal tool, Getting Started guide 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

