Home > Uncategorized > The iTunes Music Store.

The iTunes Music Store.

I'm a Johnny-Come-Lately to the goodness that is the iTunes Music Store. I hadn't used it before, and wasn't sure what all the fuss was about. Now I know. It's freaking easy to get exactly what you want. For example, I was looking for the Garden State soundtrack (see my previous entry). When I searched for it, it came up with only one song that was officially from the soundtrack; The Only Living Boy in New York, by Simon & Garfunkel. Bummer. But then, I noticed right under “Top Downloads” an entry called “Top Rated iMixes: 1. Garden State Soundtrack” Huh? I thought the iTunes Music Store only had the one Garden State song.

Man, was I wrong. Someone had put together all the tracks for the Garden State soundtrack from music already on the iTunes Music Store. La and I already had the one Coldplay song from one of her CDs. We purchased the others from this list for $0.99 each. (We skipped the Lionel Richie track, but picked up the extra Postal Service track.) So, for less than $10, we had the entire soundtrack, plus an extra. We bought them, I adjusted the ID3 tags from the individual albums to say that they were from the Garden State soundtrack and copied the cover art. From start of the search to finishing by copying the album art: 15 minutes. How cool is that? Best part, I didn't steal anything. All legal, even the burning of the CD to pop into the car's player.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

