Home > Personal > Determined to post! Determined, I tell you!

Determined to post! Determined, I tell you!

I haven’t posted in forever, and there’s a bad reason for it: everytime I saw something that made me think “Hmmm, should blog about that,” I was either a) away from my machine or b) totally unmotivated. Since I’ve got some slack time, I thought I’d catch people up on what I’ve been up to.

1. has moved in with me. Those of you who have been following her LJ or have talked to me recently already know about this, and possibly also the extremely anticlimatic way that my parents took the news.

2. I’ve been working with my team at work to get NHGRI moved over to Mac OS X 10.3.4. from either Mac OS 9 or Mac OS X 10.2.8. We’re about halfway done and that’s been sucking up a lot of my time. On the plus side, once we’re done the Macs will be set up *much* better from a remote administration standpoint.

3. and myself are heading up to New York this weekend to see . For those that read that and worry about the recent terror alerts, well….we live and work either in DC or just outside of it. We’re just swapping one target for another. Personally, I’m going to live my life.

4. We’ve gotten an Airport Express for the house. Score. I’ve set up a wireless network that’s twice the speed of my current one and I can stream music over the network to attached speakers. Now I just need to get it upstairs *and* attached to my network at the same time. I’ve got a couple of ideas, but they all either a) cost about a hundred/hundred-fifty bucks that I’m reluctant to spend right now or b) are rather kludgy.

Idea #1 – Buy another Airport Express

This is probably the simplest thing to do, as I’d be able to set up both Airports to talk to each other. One could stay in the basement attached to the router and the other could be plugged in upstairs somewhere and have AirTunes running through attached speakers.

Idea #2 – Run a long ethernet cable to wherever I want the Airport Express to plug in.

This is probably the cheapest thing (relatively) to do, as ethernet cabling is pretty cheap. But I don’t want to run cabling as it’s a pain and that will limit the Airport’s location to a fixed one. Also, it’s not terribly attractive.

Idea #3 – Wireless speakers

I was all over this until I started pricing. Ouch. It’s the most expensive idea so far.

Idea #4 – Powerline networking.

This one’s potentially pretty sweet as it will allow me to run my network to anywhere in the house where I’ve got a wall outlet. The downside is that it’s dependent on the state of the electrical infrastructure in the house w/regards to using it for networking. I don’t know if that will cause me any problems because I’ve never used this approach before.

All in all, it’s busy but I’m happy.

Moment of Zen

Web Addiction Gets Conscripts Out of Army

Categories: Personal
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

