Home > Bash scripting, Mac administration, Mac OS X, VMware, VMware ESXi > create_vmware_osx_install_dmg script updated with Mavericks support

create_vmware_osx_install_dmg script updated with Mavericks support

I’ve updated the create_vmware_osx_install_dmg.sh script that I had previously posted about here. The script now includes support for Mavericks, so the script can now be run on 10.7 – 10.9 to create custom OS X 10.7.x, 10.8.x and 10.9.x installers for VMware Fusion and VMware ESXi. See below the jump for the details.

See below an example of running the script on 10.8.x to create custom OS X 10.9.x installers disk images for both Fusion and ESXi:

Screen Shot 2013-10-22 at 10.09.59 PM

Screen Shot 2013-10-22 at 10.12.19 PM

Once the run completes, you should have two disk images. One will be a .dmg for use with VMware Fusion and an .iso for use with VMware ESXi.

Screen Shot 2013-10-22 at 10.20.46 PM

For more details on configuring and running the script, see the previous posts that I’ve made about this script. The updated script is below and has also been posted to my GitHub repo.

  1. doxinho
    October 25, 2013 at 12:15 pm

    Thanks for your hard work on this script. I keep getting this error: http://i.imgur.com/NaG4lTb.png

    Do you have any idea what I am doing wrong? Any help is appreciated.

    • October 25, 2013 at 12:41 pm

      When you’re using the script, are the script and the “support” directory both located in the same location?

      For example, if the script is located in /Users/username/foo, the “support” directory and all of its contents also need to be in stored in /Users/username/foo.

      • doxinho
        October 25, 2013 at 1:11 pm

        Thanks for the quick response. The script “create_vmware_osx_install.dmg.sh” is located in the /create_osx_vm_install_dmg folder and /support/ is a subdirectory of the /create_osx_vm_install_dmg folder. I cloned it directly from GitHub so I am assuming that is correct. Let me know if I am wrong!

      • October 25, 2013 at 1:23 pm

        It sounds like the directory structure is OK. Did you unzip the First Boot Package Install zip file and then configure First Boot Package Install with your additional installers?

  2. doxinho
    October 25, 2013 at 6:43 pm

    Once again, I’d just like to say many thanks for your development as I really appreciate the work you have put in… it’s nearly mind blowing to me coming from a non-programming background. I did not extract the .zip at first, but after my first try the .dmg/.iso only came out to ~1.5GB. I tried the script again and voila- everything worked flawlessly and I am now installing OS X on my ESXi host. I didn’t put any additional installers in yet because I just wanted to learn the basics from the start. Again, thanks very much for your time!

  3. Régis Duchesne
    July 21, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    “updated with Mavericks support”: I believe installing from the media your script creates will result in a Mavericks installation which lacks the Recovery HD partition, and hence a Mavericks installation in which FileVault 2 (and other things) do not work.

    So for now I would stick with VMware’s recommended way (Guest OS Install Guide) to install Mavericks in a VM on ESXi: Install Mountain Lion in the VM, then upgrade the VM to Mavericks using Software Update.

    • July 21, 2014 at 7:28 pm

      Régis,

      I hadn’t noticed that before, but it appears that you’re correct. I’ll see if there’s a way to fix that. As a workaround, it appears that this can be addressed via using Per Olafsson’s Create Recovery Partition Installer to generate an installer that can install the missing recovery partition:

      Create Recovery Partition Installer is available from here on GitHub:

      https://github.com/MagerValp/Create-Recovery-Partition-Installer

      Unfortunately, that installer would be too large to include as part of First Boot Package Install’s payload (available space is around 350 MBs, the Recovery Partition installer is around 485 MBs.)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

