Archive

Archive for January 21, 2013

Setting up ESXi 5.1 on a 2011 Mac Mini Server

January 21, 2013 25 comments

One thing I’ve wanted to do for a while is virtualizing my home server setup, as well as making it easier to stand up (and take down) test servers as needed.

I’ve been doing a lot of work with VMWare Fusion on my Mac and could have gone that way, but I wanted to do the virtualization with VMWare’s free ESXi software. I hadn’t previously set up a dedicated hypervisor, so I wanted to learn how to do that.

I have a 2011 Mac Mini Server, which is fortunate because setting up ESXi on that Mini model has been well-documented in a number of places. The latest available version as of this date is ESXi 5.1, so I decided to install that. After some work, I now have ESX 5.1 running on my Mini Server. See below the jump for the details.

Read more…

Categories: VMware, VMware ESXi
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

