Archive

Archive for December 18, 2012

Pulling Guest OS information from offline VMWare Fusion VMs

December 18, 2012 1 comment

As a related task to my Boot Camp partition detection, I also wanted to see if I could get information on the OS running in VMWare Fusion VMs without the VM actually being up and running. After some poking, I saw that I could get information on running VMs by using the vmrun list command. However, there didn’t see to be a way to pull information on non-running VMs using VMWare Fusion 5′s vmrun command.

After some additional investigation, it looked like the data I wanted was stored in /Users/username_here/Library/Preferences/com.vmware.fusion.plist in the VMFavoritesListDefaults2 plist key. In that plist key, the information I wanted was stored in the guestOS dict. With that information, I was able to use grep and awk to pull just the OS information I wanted. The command I used was:

defaults read com.vmware.fusion VMFavoritesListDefaults2 | grep guestOS | awk '{print $3}' | sed 's/"//g' | sed 's/;//g'

When I did that against my own VMs, here’s the output I received.

Screen Shot 2012-12-18 at 1.37.24 PM

Note: One thing to be aware of is that OS X VMs will report their Darwin OS info.

Because this information is stored on a per-user basis, you would need to check each user account to pull the VMs associated with each account.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

