Home > Mac administration, Office 2011 > Printing from Word 2011 and showing Track Changes markups

Printing from Word 2011 and showing Track Changes markups

I was asked by one of my users “How do I print from Word 2011 and see the markups from Track Changes?” I had no idea, so I had to do some poking around until I found the right options. Here’s how it works for anyone else who needs it.

1. In Word 2011, go to File: Print.

2. In the Print window, click on the Copies & Pages drop-down menu.

3. Select Microsoft Word from the Copies & Pages drop-down menu.

4. Click on the Print What: menu and select Document showing markup.

5. Click the Print button

Your Word document should print and show all current edits made to the document with Track Changes.

  1. DB
    September 14, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    Thanks. Wish Microsoft would make it easy on users. 2011 versions of Office is not intuitive.

  2. NancyB
    September 20, 2011 at 1:38 am

    Thank you! Saved me lots (more) frustration.

    • cm
      December 6, 2011 at 8:26 pm

      Ditto for me as well. THANK YOU!

  3. September 21, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    Is there any way of setting this as a default so that it automatically happens when I click on the print icon?

  4. October 27, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    Following the instructions I still could not print the reviewers’ comments in the same color as they appear in the document on screen. Used a color printer. How can I get Word to print the markup in color on our color printer? Thank you for your guidance.

    • October 28, 2011 at 12:31 pm

      I’m not seeing an option available for that. If you need that, you may want to give Microsoft’s support line a call and see what they can do.

  5. Susana McCune
    January 13, 2012 at 12:41 am

    Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    I have been searching the internet for months trying to figure out how to print docs with the comment balloons in track changes. You have finally answered the question in a clear, concise manner. I printed out your post. Can’t thank you enough!

  6. meg
    January 22, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    Exactly the answer I needed – thank you for saving me a lot of frustration.

  7. Nathan
    April 2, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    I followed these instructions to the letter, and track changes appear on the print preview, but when I print the comments are still not printing (nor is the added margin where they would ordinarily appear). Any other ideas what might be preventing the comments from printing? I checked all the printer presets, but cannot locate anything that pertains to track changes. Thank you

  8. Saf
    April 26, 2012 at 4:26 pm

    This doesnt work on my mac, same as for Nathan, preview shows comments but doesnt print them.

  9. Rach
    November 8, 2012 at 2:55 am

    Thank you so much, it worked first time, and I have been searching on the internet for a solution. Also saved me lots of frustration!

  10. the pony
    February 26, 2013 at 12:42 am

    so confusing, can’t wait until people stop using word, pages was much easier.

  11. Madi
    May 3, 2013 at 12:01 am

    I’ve figured out how to print and show my tracked changes and comments. Another issue I’ve come across is the resizing of the document. When I go to print to document, it automatically resizes in Print Preview because of the comment ballons. I need those to show, and I don’t want it to automatically resize. Any tips? Really, I’m trying to save my document as a PDF so I can send the document to a reviewer with comments made (and I need it to be PDF because that’s a more universal format and I don’t want any format changes).

  12. Bruce Pinkney
    October 16, 2013 at 7:26 pm

    My problem was to get the document to print without showing the change tracking. No matter how many times I turned off “Highlight changes in printed document” in the “Highlight changes” menu, it was promptly turned back on when I closed the menu box. Grrr… Anyway, you have solved this reverse problem for me.

  13. Robby
    April 26, 2014 at 4:47 pm

    Problem is that if you have the balloons showing, Word prints the document in the upper-left corner, in a small, pint-sized version, hard to read. But you’ll get the Comments as well as the Track Changes insertions/deletions.

    If you turn off the balloons, it will be regular sized, but then the Comments do NOT print– they show up only as footnote/endnote type symbols [1] [2], etc.

    Any ideas?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

